What it cost to license a photo for use in a book

I had contacted the ICP about using one of Weegee’s photos in my artists’ book.

https://danielteolijr.wordpress.com/2015/08/17/piercing-darkness-update/

I am part dedicating the book to Weegee and wanted to show a little of Weegee’s work in the dedication.

Licensing costs ended up being $336 for print only and $415 for print and e-book rights. Too much for my use. I will just leave the dedication as text.

Now, prices vary a lot. The quote I received was for 50 hand-printed artists’ books. If your edition has 10,000 books in it the price may be a lot more. Rights for cover use may cost more than for use inside the book. The rear cover rights are usually less than the front cover rights. Paperback rights may be cheaper than hardcover…lots of variables.

De Wallen Graffiti 2014 Daniel D. Teoli Jr.