Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Sure…I got 25 – 30 pounds of fat that needs to go, exercise more, get more sleep, drink more water.  All the usual suspects. Resolutions seem to always revolve around more or less of something. But here are a few of my 2016 wants for my photo needs:

Most of January / February 2016 is budgeted for finishing up printing of 2 artists’ books I shot in 2014 / 2015. De Wallen: Amsterdam’s Red Light District Bikers’ Mardi Gras. As I write this I am about 60% complete with printing.

I need to clean out 3 years of unedited pix. I’m not one for marinating photos a la’ Eric Kim…I hate sitting on them, I just shoot so many projects I don’t have time to edit them.  I plan to study how I spend my time and try to cut back on less pressing demands and use any time I can free up for editing old work.

I need to start selling some of the unneeded cameras and gear sitting around. I don’t have anyone breast feeding photo skills. I have to learn by trial and error…lots of error. Consequently I end up with a lot of gear that just didn’t work out for me.

I plan to spend less time on blogging via simplified, smarter more organized blogging and cut back the number of yearly posts by about 60%-70%. Instead of 250 posts a year, try for 80 to 100 posts.

While I enjoy blog writing, there comes a point in time when one must decide which direction to take…writer or photographer. So I am trying to go in the direction of ‘less typing ~ more button pushing.’

By Summer / Fall 2016 I hope to be freed up enough to post process and print up a maquette for a completed project I shot in 2015…A Day in the Life of a Drag Queen.

I hope to complete 2 projects by year end that are being jointly considered for a 2016 Guggenheim Fellowship….Piercing Darkness (Infrared Flash Photography) and The Americans…60 years after Frank.

I hope to start on 2 artists’ book projects that are under development. Thirty-six views of Bison & With Due Respect Beloved One.

NYE Piercing Darkness Infrared Flash 2015 Daniel D. Teoli Jr. mr

Infrared flash photo from Piercing Darkness project.