Composition, breaking the rules: Quick, overhead, lucky, unframed, grab shot.

A know it all on the photo forums said quick, overhead, lucky, unframed, grab shots don’t count.  Well, I’m sorry I didn’t read his notice before I shot these. I will have to use ignorance in my defense.

Lost Princess Copyright 2013 Daniel D. Teoli Jr. mr

37Whoop-Whoop 111 Daniel D. Teoli Jr. mr

…Let me add selective color is another hated genre on the photo forums.

Do you think I care what is in fashion with the Flickr crowd? If you want to succeed be different, be bold. If you want to blend in and get nowhere, keep shooting the sunsets, smoky water with the obligatory dock, your star trails and burning steel wool.

When I made the switch from film to digital I was on Flickr for 9 days before they banned me. I’ve been banned from 90% of the photo forums. That helped make my success. I see where people fail and do the opposite.

Photography has no rules, it is not a sport. It is the result which counts, no matter how it is achieved. ~ Bill Brand

.