Wishing your life away…

PD 2015 Daniel D. Teoli Jr. mr - C

Infrared flash from Piercing Darkness project.

On one of the photo forums a photog talked about how he wished he would have more $ so he could travel to photo galleries worldwide…just to look. I thought he would have said he wanted more money to travel to shoot, but I guess ‘looking’ is more important to him.

Whenever I travel I make it a point to look at the local art scene, but it is always an off-shoot from my real goal which is taking photos. Sure, it is good to expose yourself to art at all levels, but there comes a time when if we call ourselves photogs we need to produce ourselves. If we don’t or can’t produce…then we must be camera fondlers.

This guy complaining was a seasoned photog too, with about as much time as me…many decades. Sure it would be nice to be able to go to some exhibits. It would be nice to be able to stay at a quiet hotel and not have to cook on a hot plate in my room. But, none of that matters, as long as we can do a good job at freezing time.

For me, I am not into galleries much. I’d rather be shooting. If you like to look, make use on the net and see more than you could ever look at in a lifetime of gallery travel. I have so many blogs and sites that send me daily updates on art and photography I just have to delete them all and can’t read them.

Here is a good all-rounder, if you don’t want to clutter your mailbox like me.

http://www.loeildelaphotographie.com

Use your library and get lots of photo books. Expose yourself to art at all levels where your at.

Readers…don’t wish your life away…DO! 

Wish less…press the button more.

De Wallen Graffiti 2014 Daniel D. Teoli Jr.